Classic #1 — The Old Man and the Sea

hem

hem

Well, I finally read one of those classics I was talking about.  I started with The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway.  When I visited the Hemingway House on Key West last month, I learned that this book’s main character, Santiago, is based a good friend that Hemingway hired to fish with him during his years at Key West.

My husband read this one first and wanted me to read it and discuss.  So, our discussion will probably be tonight since I just finished it.  As most of you know, this is about an old man and his struggle catching the “big one.”  That’s pretty much it.  And, amazingly, that took up 127 pages.

While not much happens in this book, I found it a very interesting and quick read.  Hemingway is a master at description and I could picture the beautiful sea.  I did find his switching between third person and first person a little haphazard, but who am I to criticize a master.

The struggle of the old man was very poignant.  His strength of spirit was amazing and quite inspirational.  I did feel his loneliness, even as he tried to convince himself he wasn’t lonely.  His love of the young boy was really touching.  I also found the man’s respect for the fish touching.  The ending is sad and I left this book feeling a little down.

This definitely is outside of my “box,” especially with my recent jaunt into YA vampire novels.  However, I’m glad I read it.  I’m looking forward to this discussion with my husband as he always has some interesting insights that I often overlook.

Coming soon……..review of The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen.  I LOVED it!!!!  And, I can’t wait for her new release, The Girl Who Chased the Moon in March, 2010.

Plus,  I watched the Emma Thompson version of Sense & Sensibility for the Everything Austen Challenge (even though it wasn’t on my original list).

So, I have a lot of catching up to do.  And, I miss reading your blogs.  I promise to catch up soon!

2 responses to “Classic #1 — The Old Man and the Sea

  1. I really love this slim book…its one of my favorite Hemingway novels, in spite of its somber mood. I’m glad you enjoyed this “out of the box” novel.

    I have a ton of posts to catch up on too, but here I am…commenting…you can do it.

    let us know how the discussion with the hubby goes.

  2. I’ve read very little Hemingway to be honest. Mostly his short stories. I’ll have to read this one at some point. I hope your discussion went well.

Leave a Reply

