Everything Jane Austen — Part 6

That’s right, everyone, I completed the challenge.  I’ve actually read and watched more than six, but I just finished Mr. Darcy, Vampyre by Amanda Grange to round out my posts for this challenge.

darc

darc

I’ve been so into vampire books (in fact, my husband asked me if there were any left I haven’t read) that I was very excited when Jane Austen was connected to them.  Two of my favorite genres in one!  So, when I finally got this one from the library, I was quite excited.

This book picks up after Pride & Prejudice at the marriage of Elizabeth/Darcy and Jane/Bingley.  Elizabeth feels like the happiest woman in the world until shes spies Darcy’s face just after the wedding and wonders if he regrets marrying her.  The happy couple start their tour with a change of plans and head to Europe.  Elizabeth continues to have misgivings, especially when Darcy fails to come to the marriage bed.  And, from there, the story unfolds…..

I have to say that I was entertained with this book, but not until the second half.  During the first half, when Elizabeth was still trying to figure out what was wrong with Darcy’s and her relationship, I was getting very frustrated.  As the reader, it was quite obvious.  I always thought of Elizabeth as a smart woman.  She just seemed like a dunce to me.  Also, I was annoyed by her lack of courage in talking to her husband.  That’s not the Lizzy I remember from Pride & Prejudice. Plus, Elizabeth went along blindly with Darcy, even during very mysterious happenings without so much as a word of question.  Does that sound like Elizabeth Bennet?

But, once the real action started and Elizabeth finally learns Darcy’s secret, the book was much better.  It was exciting and the Elizabeth we all know and love seemed to return.  Her bravery and loyalty were tested and she rose to the challenge.  And,  she put forth what she wanted even when it went against Darcy’s directives.  The strong woman came back.

The author did present some great descriptions of scenery in this novel.  This is especially true near the end when the Darcys are in the ancient temple.  I could really picture the surroundings and they were breathtaking!

So, here ends my challenge.  Of course, I’m sure I will never leave this genre behind.  I would like to check out some more of Grange’s “Diary of” books.  And, I also found some mysteries that Jane Austen stars in herself that I plan to check out further.

5 responses to “Everything Jane Austen — Part 6

  1. Congrats! I still have a few things left myself (I’m not all that good at challenges)! :)

  2. Way to finish!

    I really don’t like watching well-loved characters change drastically in someone else’s writing. I would be bugged with the wimpy Elizabeth, too. Sounds like it was ultimately worth reading, though.

  3. I’m glad that Elizabeth was able to figure things out and come back to being the heroine you knew and loved. I think I would have been frustrated with and “imposter” for half the book. Congrats on finishing the challenge.

  4. I really enjoyed this novel, but I did think Elizabeth was a bit dopey in the beginning and it did take her too long to realize something else was going on. But I took into account my modern sensibilities and what may seem obvious to me that he was a vampire, may not have been obvious to her at the time.

    I loved the scenery and description.

  5. Congrats on completing the challenge! I’ve read 2 so far. I agree that the second half of the book was much better.

    –Anna

Leave a Reply

