A Little Christian Fiction

Redeeming LoveMy book club met tonight to discuss Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers.  It was my pick and I was a little nervous about how the ladies would like it.  When I picked it, I must have just skimmed the synopsis because it didn’t dawn on me that it was Christian fiction until I actually sat down to read it.  This was my first foray into this genre. 

This book retold the bible story of Hosea and Gomer, but put it into an 1800s setting.  Now, I was not familiar with this story from the bible, but I’ll give a quick synopsis of the 1800s version.  This book tells the story of a prostitute in California during the gold rush in the mid-1800s.  A woman grows up, is betrayed by many, and eventually meets a man that God has told to marry her.  She resists, but the man continues to follow God’s words and pursues her.  It is their story.

I loved this book.  It was a wonderful romance told beautifully.  The author really tells you the protagonists life story, bit by bit, and it really helps you understand her and the choices she makes.  The man in the story is “unbelievable” and his love is extraordinary.  All the key characters are described so that you’ll love or hate them.  The referrals to God and his love added to the story and were not preachy in any way.  It was just part of the story. 

I would definitely recommend this book, to Christains and non-Christians.  Who wouldn’t enjoy a romance with a positive message about unconditional love?  And that’s what this was.

PS  Thanks for all the welcomes from the book bloggers out there.  I’ve enjoyed your comments and look forward to reading more of your blogs.

PPS  I’ll rejoin the discussion of Jane Austen era books soon.

4 responses to “A Little Christian Fiction

  1. Welcome to the world of book blogging! I read your friend Stephanie’s blog and really enjoy it, and I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts as well. Stop by and say hi sometime. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the recommendation! I love finding an unexpected good read, especially if it’s a genre I’m not familiar with.

    Nice job on the review, too!

  3. Yeah, who knew that all of us would love this book! Great pick on your part. I only hope our next book, The Secret of the Pink Carnation, is as well received!

  4. Stephanie, I had so much fun reading THE SECRET of the PINK CARNATION! It was smart enough that I felt satisfied, but I loved the premise and the characters. Hope your book club likes it, too.

Leave a Reply

