Jane Austen – The End (For Now)

A Novel of Jane Austens LifeThe Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen

To tie up my Jane Austen reading, for now, I will talk about a novel Just Jane.  Like The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen, which I liked and previously reviewed, this book is a novel that acts like a journal by Jane talking about her life starting around age 20 until she is a published author in her late-30s.  I really enjoyed The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen, but Just Jane didn’t hold my interest quite as much.

 

Jane was a bit whiney in Just Jane and I remember thinking I didn’t like her very well.  This was somewhat disconcerting since I’m such a big fan.  In Just Jane, Jane Austen spends a great deal of her time looking for a husband.  That just didn’t seem to sit well with everything else I’ve read.  I’ve always thought of Jane as someone who would welcome a “true love,” but was just as content to be an independent woman. 

 

I guess I just didn’t like that this book about Jane didn’t shine her in a flattering light.  I think to find out the truth, I’m going to read a real biography of Jane Austen and no more novels pretending.  Hopefully, then, I’ll get a more realistic idea about this fascinating author. 

5 responses to “Jane Austen – The End (For Now)

  1. I’m glad to hear that you liked THE LOST MEMOIRS OF JANE AUSTEN. I won this book (and an author chat) from readinggroupguides.com last November. I’m supposed to be getting the books for my book club in the mail soon! I haven’t read a lot of Jane Austen books, so I was a little leary.

  2. I’ll be curious to hear what you find when reading a biography, and how it compares to your images of her from this book and other sources.

  3. I got a biography out and I’m going to check it out after vacation. I’ll let you know.

  4. The Lost Memoirs was great! Very witty, charming novel.

  5. I agree with you. That perception of Jane does not fit with other perceptions I have read. Jane Austen’s characters are always so independent, so it’s hard to imagine her searching for a husband. It would be interesting to see a comparison of the content of this novel and an actual biography of Jane Austen.

    K.C.D
    http://thewritingsofkcd.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

