Disney Books

Well, I’m home.  I was able to sneak in one book.  I took Stephanie‘s and Fuzzycricket’s advice and read my bookclub selection for next month, The Secret History of the Pink Carnation.  I’ll review it soon. 

I was exhausted each night after touring Disney.  And, I spent some time each night planning for the next day.  As a child, my father put us on a schedule so we could see as much as possible.  I’ve resented that somewhat.  However, I’ll admit, that with a plan, you definitely see more. 

 The Unofficial Guide to Walt Disney World 2008 (Unofficial Guides)I used The Unofficial Guide to Walt Disney World 2008.  While a thick book with lots of information, it was very helpful.  What I liked the most was the suggested touring plans for each of Disney’s parks.  For Magic Kingdom and Epot, they provided a one-day or a two-day plan.  While I didn’t follow the plans exactly, I found them very helpful in planning what I wanted to see and knowing the best times to see each attraction.  Although, I didn’t like the smugness of the authors suggesting that people who don’t follow their plans are silly.

Birnbaum's Walt Disney World for Kids 2008 (Birnbaum's Walt Disney World for Kids By Kids)Another book we used for planning our outings was Birnbaum Guides Walt Disney World for Kids (my book has a different cover).  This book I bought and I’m glad I did.  It provides descriptions of all the rides at the four parks.  It lets you know the height requirements and what is scary, loud and dark.  My daughter enjoyed looking through the book finding the things she wanted to do.  And, there’s an autograph section in the back of the book we used when we met characters.  It’s cheaper than buying Disney autograph books.  This book also described the shows so we could pick ones that we were interested in.  I would highly recommend this one.

 

7 responses to “Disney Books

  1. I took two of my cousins to Disney World and I think we used an Unofficial Guide. Thank goodness for it because it did have some great advice. We hardly had to wait in any lines and stuff like that. But, seriously that’s probably the only trip where I didn’t do any reading… I was exhausted after all the rides, walking and pigging out on fast food! ha,ha…

  2. I’m going to start Pink Carnation today (while Maya’s napping and Leah’s at a playdate). Hopefully I can get in a couple of hours sitting outside enjoying the beautiful weather and reading!

  3. Welcome home! I’m looking forward to your thoughts on PINK CARNATION.

    I’ve started using guide-type books for planning vacations, too. I figure I’m confident enough to discard any suggestions I don’t like, an not feel too silly (grin!). I always appreciate a good perspective on the kid friendliness of a park or city, though.

  4. I’ve heard a lot of good things about The Secret History of the Pink Carnation. I look forward to hearing what you think about it!

  5. PS–My blog site has changed. If you click on my name above this post, you’ll be able to go there.

  6. Thanks for the tips about the Disney books. I’m going to try to pick up the one for the kids before our trip.

  7. Hey Nicole, thanks for reading the book!

Leave a Reply

