Husband Recommendation

The Road (Oprah's Book Club)My husband took this book out of the library.  He wanted me to read it, too, so we could talk about it.  So, I read it first.  I’m not sure what to say.

The Road, written by the same author who wrote No Country for Old Men, is about a father and a son trying to survive alone in burned America.  It’s a postapocalyptic story. 

First of all, the author never tells you exactly what happened to the earth to have it covered in ash, with little sunlight coming through.  My guess is some sort of meteor hit the earth.  The descriptions of the “new” world are numerous and they do give you a good picture in your mind. 

The relationship between the father and son is one of dependence and love.  The father is truly committed to his son.  However, his son seems to have a softer heart.  They have some disagreements on how to react to others they find along their path. 

Not much happens in this novel.  It is definitely a character study about characters with no names with a message.  Unfortunately, I often have trouble with these types of books.  I’m not always sure what the author is trying to say.  I’m not sure about this one, either. 

I think some people would like this book.  But, it’s not my cup of tea.  I’m wondering how my husband will like it. 

 

4 responses to “Husband Recommendation

  1. Wasn’t that an Oprah book recently? I haven’t read it, since I’ve heard that it’s pretty depressing.

  2. I sort of want to read this book but I think I have to be in the right mood for it. Hope you guys have a good discussion on it!

  3. No character names? That’s unique. Thanks for posting your thoughts on this.

  4. If you would like to add a link to my review of The Road, here is my link: http://savvyverseandwit.blogspot.com/2008/02/down-desolate-road.html

Leave a Reply

