The Road — Part 2, Husband’s Review

Okay, I finally got my husband to write down his thoughts on The Road.  We didn’t see eye to eye on this one, but it did make for a good discussion. 

 The Road is the story of a father and son’s survival after a catastrophic event which has left the Earth a barren wasteland.  The father and son are continually looking for food and journeying further south to find a warmer climate before winter sets in.  The father and son do encounter other survivors on the road as well.      

The author does not give any details on how the earth got this way or even reveal the main characters names which I thought was interesting.   

I didn’t realize the emotional depth of the novel until a few days after finishing the book.  The author covers the themes of the love between parent and child, hope, personal sacrifice, and faith. 

The Road is one of the more memorable books that I have read in the last few years.  I would cetainly reccommend this to others.  

For another review, check out Savvy Verse and Wit.

5 responses to “The Road — Part 2, Husband’s Review

  1. I recently read The Road also and it took a few days for everything to settle in with this book. It was a very powerful story and very unique in delivery. I love that you and your husband both read and reviewed this one. I wish I could get my husband to do something like this! I’ll have to work on this one.

  2. I have also reviewed this book here:
    http://savvyverseandwit.blogspot.com/2008/02/down-desolate-road.html

    I guess I went a bit more in depth into my review of the book, but feel free to check it out.

  3. I like having the two reviews. It amazes me to see how a book can affect so many different people differently. Much of our enjoyment of literature is based on the experience we bring to someone else’s writing.

  4. This was GREAT! My Hub is reading thru Upton SInclair’s OIL book before we watch the movie There Will Be Blood! I doubt I’ll get him to write any kind of review for it but I’m going to try!

  5. Thanks for adding my link!

Leave a Reply

