Book Blog Recommendation

I have really enjoyed my book blogging.  It has given me many new ideas about books I’d like to read.  I can’t keep up (and my bookmooch wishlist is ever-expanding.)

Can You Keep a Secret?

Anyway, I recently read a Sophia Kinsella book, Can You Keep a Secret?.  Katherine, from A Girl Walks Into a Bookstore, suggested Kinsella as an author for a light, funny read when I asked for a vacation read recommendation.  Well, she pointed me in the right direction.

This book was the story of a woman working in marketing for a soda company.  She gets her first chance to travel to a meeting.  Although she’s afraid to fly, she’s excited for her big break to prove herself to the boss.  Well, the meeting was a disaster and she has several drinks before getting back on the plane to go home.  A flight attendant takes mercy on her and upgrades her to business class.  The flight has lots of turbulence and the main character (I forgot her name, as I usually do.  I’m terrible with names, real and fictional!) truly believes she’ll die.  She starts telling all her secrets to the man sitting next to her; all kinds of embarrassing secrets.  Well, it turns out that the man sitting next to her is the founder of the company she works for who is on his way to her office. 

This book was hilarious.  I laughed out loud lots of times.  The secrets she tells are numerous and funny.  And, they seem similar to secrets we may all have that we wouldn’t tell anyone, even our husbands.  The main character’s reaction to “meeting” the founder of the company later is also amusing.  She is quite dysfunctional and her thoughts throughout the week that she must interact with him are great. 

Of course, there’s a romance involved with the typical ups and downs.  The resistance to the relationship, the acceptance of it, and, of course, the problems that ensue.  Nothing too creative there, but Kinsella does it with humor, which I enjoyed.

I do plan on checking out more of Kinsella’s books.  They do seem like good vacation reads for the summer.

4 responses to “Book Blog Recommendation

  1. Did you add this to your inventory bookmooch list yet? If not, I would like to borrow it. I’ve only read one other Kinsella book, The Undomestic Goddess, which I enjoyed. You’re welcome to borrowing it!

  2. Sounds like this is a perfect summer read. Thanks for the BookMooch link! That looks like fun.

  3. Yay! Someone listens to my advice! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I read this a few years ago and I may have to re-read it.

Leave a Reply

