Back to Jane Austen….

I’ve reviewed some Jane Austen-like books from my Jane Austen phase.  I recently found my copy of Mr. Darcy’s Daughters by Elizabeth Aston that I read during that phase and didn’t review.  So, here it is…

A Novel

This is the story of Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet’s five daughters.  Darcy and Elizabeth are in Constantinople and they send their daughters to stay with friends in London for the season.  The older daughter is neurotic, the youngest one is only interested in her music.  The twins are flirtasous and looking for a good time.  And, it seems, Camilla, the second-oldest is the most like Elizabeth.  This books tells of the scandels, romances and daily life of well-to-do young women during the London season.

I really enjoyed this book.  It reminded me of Jane Austen’s books, written in a similar manner, but a little bit easier to read.  It was like the author modernized Jane Austen for the contemporary reader.  And, it didn’t detract from the story.  I was a little disappointed, at first, that Darcy and Elizabeth did not make an appearance in the novel.  I would have liked to see how they were together after twenty years of marriage.  But, I got so immersed in the girls’ lives that I soon forgot about Darcy and Elizabeth.  There was enough of a story without them. 

This is one of the better Jane Austen-like books I’ve read.  I would definitely recommend it to those interested in this “genre.”

3 responses to “Back to Jane Austen….

  1. I’ve been sucked into this genre, so I’m enjoying your recommendations. I’m putting together a summer Austen reading list for myself and your reviews have helped a lot.

  2. Thanks for the recommendation. I really love the modern-day books featuring Jane Austen characters.

  3. I read this a few summer ago. While I thought it “wasn’t exactly Jane Austen,” I gave the author props for taking on her characters. She did a pretty decent job.

Leave a Reply

