Sophie Kinsella — The Undomestic Goddess

After thoroghly enjoying Can You Keep a Secret? (reviewed earlier), I decided to try another of Kinsella’s books.  (It helped that my friend brought her copy over for me to read).

This story is about a young lawyer in London who makes a 50-million pound mistake (or so she thinks).  She panics and runs away to the London countryside.  She somehow falls into a housekeeping job even though she knows nothing about domestic chores.  There are some funny descriptions of her attempts at using a washing machine and cooking.  Although, I have to say, Can You Keep a Secret?, was funnier.  I thought the humor in Undomestic was a little more forced than in Secret?  It just didn’t seem to ring as true. 

Of course, there is a romance.  I was relieved to see that there was no resistance to the beginning of the romance.  I’m kind of tired of that formula.  It was a sweet relationship.

Overall, I enjoyed this book.  However, something about it didn’t feel quite right to me.  The whole story seemed a little contrived.  I know, Can You Keep a Secret?  is rather contrived, too, but it seemed to work better, at least for me. 

I have to say that I enjoyed the message of this book.  Just because women want to be equal to men in the workplace doesn’t mean we all have to abandon “domesticity” either.  It’s okay to make different choices without letting down your gender.

3 responses to “Sophie Kinsella — The Undomestic Goddess

  1. Here’s the link for my review of this book:
    http://savvyverseandwit.blogspot.com/2008/05/dirty-domesticity.html

    I agree that the story was a bit contrived in this one. I think that her love of Nathaniel should have not come down to the gender issue at all. Nevermind how dumb these people were about hiring her in the first place.

  2. I know exactly what you’re describing – a book that just feels forced. Usually I can’t tell what it is that “is off”, but forced is a good description.

    I like the message, though. I’m very grateful for the rights I have as a woman in this day and age, but I also enjoy the domestic side of being a wife and mom.

Leave a Reply

