A Powerful, poignant novel….

 

On the cover of The Book of Bright Ideas by Sandra Kring, the book is described as “a powerful, poignant novel of family, friendship and a summer that will change lives forever.”  For once, something lived up to all the hype.

I saw a review of this book on a blog (sorry, I don’t remember which) and I immediately put it on my bookmooch wishlist.  It came a week or so ago.  The first time I picked up the book, I must have been in a mood because it didn’t grab me right away.  But, by the third chapter or so, I was hooked.  This is the book of a nine-year-old girl, Button, who meets Winalee and her sister as they pass through her little Wisconsin town.  Winalee and her sister, Freeda, are the catalyst for change in Button and her family’s lives. 

This book was beautifully written from Button’s perspective.  I could feel her confusion, her sadness and her hapiness with her new friend.  Winalee comes to town carrying around an urn with her mother’s ashes and a book.  In this book, Winalee keeps her ideas about life and she enlists Button’s help in getting to 100 bright ideas.  The girls’ ideas are so innocent and, yet, so provacative, that they really touched me.  The author did a great job portraying a nine-year’s thoughts as they try to figure out the world. 

There are some twists that I didn’t see coming.  I knew something was up, but I wasn’t quite prepared for what it was.  While the ending made sense, personally, I was a little disappointed.  You know, when you want a book to end one way, but it ends the other.  I’m not saying it was a bad ending, just one I didn’t want.  Although, I think it does it leave it open for another one (which I would love to read).

 If you’re looking for an emotional read, here it is!

 

4 responses to “A Powerful, poignant novel….

  1. LOVED THIS BOOK! My book club read it for our April selection. Here’s a link to a summary of our meeting:

    http://bookingmama.blogspot.com/2008/04/april-book-club-meeting-and-may.html

    Ms. Kring has a new book coming out in October called THANK YOU FOR ALL THINGS. I can’t wait to read it too!

  2. Oh Oh can I borrow it (before you re-mooch it)?

  3. Endings. They can kill a book or make it unforgettable. I can usually understand why an author ends a book one way, rather than what I was thinking. But thanks for the warning on this.

  4. Pingback: Sandra Kring — a new favorite « Book Escape

Leave a Reply

