Book Classics Meme

I was tagged for this one by Heather at Book Addiction.  Here goes:

What is the best classic you were “forced” to read in school (and why)?  I don’t know if this counts, but I had to read Gone With the Wind for summer reading one year.  I loved it!!  To this day, I smile when I think about Scarlet and Rhett and their volatile relationship and strong personalities.  I really enjoyed the movie, too. 

What was the worst classic you were forced to endure (and why)?    I was asked to read lots of books in MS and HS that I just never read.  I didn’t become an avid reader until graduate school.  I used it as an escape from the never-ending academic reading.  But, I do remember in eighth grade being forced to read The Last of the Mohicans.  My mom actually read it with me because I couldn’t get through it.  We made up a song about how hard it was.  In HS, I figured out how to get good grades w/o reading the books.  Just pay attention in class and you’ll ace the tests!

Which classic should every student be required to read (and why)?  I think To Kill a Mockingbird should be required.  It exposes people to important issues between the races.

Which classic should be put to rest immediately (and why)?    Okay, brace yourself, I don’t understand all the Shakespeare stuff.  I know lots of people love it, but I wish I didn’t have to be exposed to so much of it in school. 

**Bonus** Why do you think certain books become “classics”?  I think the writing, of course, is key.  Also, the use of metaphor, symbolism, etc. always seems to help.  I don’t always get a lot of that stuff and, therefore, sometimes have trouble with the “classics.”

I’m supposed to tag 5 people.  Here we go:  Stephanie at The Written Word, Fuzzycricket, Lisamm at Books on the Brain, Elizabeth C. at extensive reading, and Serena at Savy verse and Wit.  Enjoy!!

7 responses to “Book Classics Meme

  1. I agree about Shakespeare. When I was in high school (and in junior high, even) I was constantly bombared by Shakespeare’s genius, but I couldn’t understand what the whole fuss was about. Now, I suppose, I have much more appreciation for his work, but only when I’m able to read and study at my leisure. Oh and thanks for the tag!

  2. I was never really interested in Shakespeare and still I am not, though I love 16th and 17th century England. The only Shakespeare related book I’ve enjoyed is Ophelia by Lisa Klein. Of course, you don’t even have to know Hamlet to enjoy it.

  3. Hey! My first tag, LOL!

    I enjoy Shakespeare, but on my own terms. I hate analyzing.

  4. Hello!

    I just wanted to let you know that I greatly enjoy your blog and I’ve tagged you for an (optional of course!) meme at:

    http://lifeandtimesofanewnewyorker.blogspot.com

    Thanks!

  5. Pingback: Book Classics Meme « Fuzzy Cricket

  6. Whoa, thanks so much for letting me know about Bookmooch 🙂 3/4 of the books that weren’t requested for at PBS were on people’s wishlists on Bookmooch. Spreading the love!

  7. After our book club meeting the other night I was trying to remember what classics, if any, I have ever read. (Should I be admitting that???)
    Anyway, I have reserved To Kill A Mockingbird at the library since everyone at the table seemed to agree it is a good one. I’ll let you know!

Leave a Reply

