Christ the Lord Out of Egypt — by Anne Rice

When I think of Anne Rice, I think of Interview with a Vampire.  Well, that’s not all Anne Rice is about.  A woman at my bookclub kept talking about Anne Rice’s Christian fiction about the early days of Jesus Christ.  She highly recommened the books.  So, I headed over to bookmooch to see what books I could find.  Christ the Lord Out of Egypt was available and I received it quickly. 

A Novel

This book is about seven-year-old Jesus when he is just starting to realize he’s different.  His family has been in Egypt for the past seven years after fleeing Bethlehem.  Joseph has decided, after a visit from an angel, that it’s time to take Jesus home to the Holy Land.

This book is fiction.  However, Anne Rice includes an extensive author’s note at the end of the novel that discusses how she got into writing about Jesus and the extensive research she has done. 

It was a very good story.  Although, maybe, it was a little too graphic for me.  Rice’s descriptions of the fighting in the temple was very graphic.  This made for a very vivid and disturbing image. 

 Jesus was an amazing child, but a child nonetheless.  It was interesting how Rice made a point of portraying Jesus as a HUMAN child.  I felt compassion for the young Jesus as he tried to understand his special powers and tried to understand what happened surrounding his birth.   He doesn’t know how to find out the answers to his questions since his parents have forbade him to ask questions about it.  I was touched by Jesus’ reaction when he learned about what happened in Bethlehem when Herod heard from the Wise Men that Jesus was born.

Saying that, this book disturbed me on some level.  I guess I wasn’t sure if it should have been written.  And, I’m not sure why I’m feeling that way.  I think it helps make Jesus more real to people.  But, part of me felt like it was sacriligious.  Again, not sure why. 

Either way, I found this book to be thought-provoking.  While I won’t be running out to get more of Anne Rice’s Christ the Lord books, I may revisit them in the future. 

3 responses to “Christ the Lord Out of Egypt — by Anne Rice

  1. Sounds like this book would be difficult to review; you did a fantastic job. I can understand your feelings and I applaud the fact that you can admit them yet still find it thought-provoking.

  2. When I saw Rice’s The Road to Cana in the library and in bookstores, I’d wanted to pick it up. But then I was like, “Wait, this was written by Anne Rice? As in, the Vampires and Beauty series Anne Rice?” So I’m thankful that you chose to read one of the Jesus books written by her. I was afraid that it would be sacriligious, too, but I think I like your review of it enough to try it for myself. Thanks!

  3. I’ve only read two books by Rice–Interview With the Vampire, because someone said I must (didn’t see what all the fuss was about, since I’m not completely sold on vampires), and The Witching Hour, which was fantastic. Its about several generations of witches in New Orleans. I’m not sure how I’d like this book, however.

Leave a Reply

