A Fun, Magical Tale

My mom brought over a copy of Garden Spell, by Sarah Addison Allen, and said it was just a fun, happy read.  She said it is a story to make you smile.  It sounded like a perfect summer read to me.

Garden Spells (Bantam Discovery)

Garden Spell is the story of the Waverly women in a small town.  These women are “strange” as they seem to have some magical powers and are shunned by society even as they are pursued for their special gifts.  The plants in their garden affect people.  One Waverly sister comes home after leaving 10 years prior.  She’s trying to running away with her daughter from her abusive partner.  She arrives home to her sister, Clare, who is a loner and is afraid of forming strong attachments.  There’s the neighbor who is pursuing Clare despite her attempts to discourage him.  In addition, there’s the distant Wavely cousin who is obligated to give items to people without knowing why. 

The characters in this book are very colorful.  The author does a beautiful job describing the Waverly’s amazing garden and even provides a glossary at the back of the book outlining the special powers of all the plants. 

While the story, itself, is nothing new, the author does put a new spin on it with all the magic.  It was a fun book to read and I enjoyed all of the characters.  The climax of the novel is wrapped up a little too easily, but it did fit with the tone of the book.  While there are some darker issues, abusive relationships, abandonment, etc, the book does have a light feel to it.  There is a little humor, and, of course, the happy ending.

I enjoyed this fun little novel and would recommend it for a light read.

10 responses to “A Fun, Magical Tale

  1. I have this one on my shelf but haven’t read it yet. Thanks for the review!

  2. Hmm…I think I’ll put this on my list for those times when a light read is the perfect thing! Thanks!

  3. I read this book last spring and thoroughly enjoyed it. Everyone needs a fun read now and then!

  4. I picked this one up at the library last week. Thanks for the insights.

  5. I’ve heard so many good reviews of this one. I have it waiting on my TBR shelf… Just so many books and not enough time 🙂

  6. I liked this book a lot and thought it was a nice break from the heavier stuff I was reading at the time. Her next one, The Sugar Queen, is sweet too.

  7. Pingback: Tag, I’m It « Book Escape

  8. This one seems to be popular – maybe I could borrow it sometime?

  9. I really liked this book as well. I haven’t heard much about the next book by Sarah Addison Allen called Sugar Queen. Have you seen any reviews?

  10. I am going to have to check this book out.

    Another book that you may want to check out sometime is, “Pinch Hitter,” written by Dean Whitney. The book is about a man who finally fulfills his childhood dream of becoming a big league baseball player. As he gains popularity a huge family secret is revealed- drama. The book is just fun, wholesome, and inspirational. I hope that it makes it to the big screen because it would really be a great movie.

Leave a Reply

