I Am Way Behind

Well, I just got home from a week in Cape Cod.  It was excellent!!  I have to say it is up there on the list of best vacations our family has taken together.  The kids were well behaved (for the most part), the weather was perfect, we visited with old friends, and relaxed.  And, of course, read! 

When I came home and went to my book log to add my latest reads, I’ve realized that I haven’t been keeping up with my reviewing.  And, I’m starting to forget.  So, I’m just going to give a few thoughts about some books I’ve read this month without doing full reviews.

Shopaholic Takes ManhattanShopaholic Ties the Knot

First off, I read two other Shopaholic books by Sophie Kinsella.  I read the first one a couple of months ago and reviewed it here.  I found the first one just an okay read so I’m  not sure why I decided to read the next two, except I thought they would probably be nice, easy summer reads.  And, that’s what they were.  Although, each one got more ridiculous.  I had a little  trouble getting through Shopaholic Ties the Knot (which I had on vacation) because it became just too silly.  Becky just never seems to grow up.  At the end of each book you think there’s hope for her, that she has learned her lesson, but she never does.  It almost stopped being funny and instead became pathetic.  It was like a train wreck;  I just couldn’t stop until I finally passed them by.

A Novel

Earthly Pleasures, which I found out about at Booking Mama, was a really cute novel about heaven (not what you think), love and relationships.  I enjoyed it a lot.  Check out Julie P’s review for more info.!

Mr. Darcy's DiaryA Novel

I also read two “Jane Austen-type” novels.  Mr. Darcy’s Diary was the retelling of P&P from Darcy’s perspective.  I remember taking some time getting into it, but after a couple of chapters (or journal entries), I really enjoyed it.  It was fun to relive a favorite novel from a different perspective.  I went from disliking Darcy to enjoying him (just like Elizbeth).  PS   I’m hoping Stephenie Meyer comes through with the companion novel to Twilight from Edward’s perspective.

I also read The Exploits & Adventures of Miss Alethea Darcy on vacation.  I had read Aston’s other novel called Mr. Darcy’sDaughters and liked it.  However, this one about Althea Darcy was not as good.  I thought it was a little slow and it took me a while to even care about her much.  The story picked up a litte about midway through but ended predictably.

I also read Steve Martin’s Shopgirl and watched the movie.  I think I’ll talk about those more together later.

So, I’ve tried to catch up with some short reviews and look forward to catching up on reading your reviews, too.

6 responses to “I Am Way Behind

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed Mr. Darcy’s Diary. I liked that one too. Here’s my review:
    http://savvyverseandwit.blogspot.com/2008/02/inner-thoughts-of-mr-darcy.html

    I also find the shopaholic books ridiculous…I think I enjoyed them from the get-go because I knew they would be outrageous and they were great, fast reads to pass the summer days.

  2. Cape Code is a good reason for being behind. Glad you were able to get away and enjoy some refreshing vacation.

    Silly books are fine with me as long as the characters grow. I can’t stand stagnant characters who never seem to “get it.”

    Oh, and I completely agree. I’m hoping to see the Twilight story from Edward’s perspective, too.

  3. So I’m adding Can You Keep A Secret by Sophie Kinsella to my TBR pile – thank you for the recommendation!

    I’m interested what you thought of Shopgirl. I haven’t read it yet or watched the movie. Looking forward to your thoughts!

    thanks!
    Kim

  4. I haven’t been to Cape Cod in ages! I love that place.

    The Shopaholic books are my favorite chick lit. The best part is that Becky is so ditzy and ridiculous. I really loved “Shopaholic Ties the Knot” and “Shopaholic and Baby.” Those are my favorites.

    I, too, enjoyed “Mr. Darcy’s Diary.” It was neat to see the story from his perspective, but I wonder how Jane Austen would’ve written his perspective??

  5. Hey, I’m glad that you guys had a nice time! I’m guessing that you’ll be headed back there next year?

  6. Pingback: Recent Links Tagged With "escape" - JabberTags

Leave a Reply

