BBAW — All About Blogging

I think BBAW has been going great.  I’ve found some really great blogs and I’ve also noticed some increased traffic right here.  Hurray for My Friend Amy!!

Anyway, today’s task is to write about blogging.  Here, I don’t have much to say.  I’m very good at the reading part.  I spend lots of time reading, often to the detriment of my house (and dare I say, sometimes kids?)  I do okay with the reviews part.  I think I’ve definitely improved since I started in April, much to do with reading others great reviews out there.  As for the blogging aspect, not so good….

Amy has asked us to answer two questions about blogging.  I’ll do my best:

What is one thing you wish you knew about blogging when you started or what advice would you give a newbie blogger? 

What I wish I knew and still wish I knew was how to add things to my blog.  I guess I would say blog design.  I got the basics.  I can write a review and post it.  I can even add links!  But, beyond that, I’m pretty hopeless.  I try to use the “help,” but I just don’t seem to get it.  My friend Stephanie, over at Stephanie’s Written Word, has helped me with some stuff, but I wish I could do more. 

As for advice, I’m not sure.  I could use some myself.  But, I would say that a good way to get “out there” and “meet” other bloggers is to participate in challenges or weekly activities.  Of course, I am only participating in one, so far, but I’m a slow joiner. 

What is your best blogging tip?

Hmmm…my best blogging tip.  Don’t focus too much on how many comments you get.  I’ve found that people are reading, but not always commenting!

Well, it’s sad, but true, that’s all I’ve got.  I can’t wait to read other posts on this subject.  Hopefully, I’ll get some good tips!

10 responses to “BBAW — All About Blogging

  1. Thanks for posting this, especially since you are a relatively new blogger. I had some of the same issues when I started, but the first place to start is to ask bloggers you know or have met how they got certain things posted on their blogs, etc. I don’t use wordpress much, but I have experience with blogger. And I am always willing to help other bloggers figure it out…now if only I knew how to design my own blog template and buttons…that would be fantastic.

  2. I wholeheartedly agree with your comments tip. It’s always nice to see comments and high stats, but I have to remind myself that I write mostly for me. I enjoy the creative part of it and I try not to dwell on comments. Too much. *grin*

  3. It looks like you know what you’re doing to me!

  4. WordPress is not that “user friendly” as far as adding buttons and uploading different themes to change the look of your blog. In fact, I recently got my own URL so I could have a more distinct look for my blog, but am having issues so I haven’t yet rolled it out.

  5. excellent point – people often read but don’t comment, it’s sad but true.

    As for making changes, there are tons of bloggers out there who are willing to help! Just look for people using the same hosting site as you are, and ask away. 🙂

  6. I know nothing about wordpress, wish I could help you! so true (but sad) about comments. 😉

  7. Definitely true about comments…sometimes I find myself just reading and then I realize I haven’t commented!! I do try to leave a comment wherever I visit.

  8. Hi, Nicole.

    I enjoyed reading your advice.

    I agree about comments. I can tell by my stats in Sitemeter that I get a ton of hits compared to the comments.

  9. I think you’re doing a great job! I really enjoy your blog!

    I agree about the comments thing as well. It’s nice when someone comments, but it’s also nice to know there are people reading…even if they don’t make themselves known!

    I wish I was more Web savvy, especially when it comes to design. I’d love to add graphics, etc., but I haven’t a clue where to start.

  10. I like your simple clean easy-to-read non-cluttered blog. You’re doin’ swell. 🙂

Leave a Reply

