Odds & Ends

Well, we’re ending a great week of appreciation brought to us by My Friend Amy.  It was fun getting to know so many new bloggers and participating in some good contests.  Thanks so much for a fun week!

On another note, I wrote a post a little while ago about The Ruins by Scott Smith.  Well, I buckled and watched the movie.  While I would recommend the book, I would NOT, NOT, NOT recommend the movie.  It was terrible!  I was a little surprised since Scott Smith wrote the screen play for the movie.  Even the author of the book couldn’t stay true to it.  He changed whole character’s personalities and not for the better.  The movie had none of the psychological conflict that the book had.  And, they didn’t do too well making the scary part scary.  But, they did succeed on a pure gore factor.  The movie was a big disappointment.

On a lighter note, I recently read the book Other People’s Love Letters.  It’s a collection of love letters submitted by people of all ages.  While I thought this was a good idea and was looking forward to reading some of the notes, I was a little disappointed.  A good portion of the notes were break-up letters or bitter responses to a break-up.  I didn’t find too many romantic ones.  The best one was from a little boy to a little girl.  Very cute!  One good thing I enjoyed was at the end of the book.  The editor provided a brief story of some of the letter’s relationships and their current status.  That was kind of fun to read. 

On a final note, I want to remind people about my first giveaway of Joshua Henkin’s Matrimony.  Go here and enter to win a personalized, signed copy of this interesting book (which I reviewed here).

6 responses to “Odds & Ends

  1. I hated that movie as well. I was reluctant to read the book because I feared it was like the movie. But maybe I should check it out.

  2. Ah, man! I can’t stand it when the movie is so totally different from the book that you don’t recognize it. That’s really too bad.

    LOVE LETTERS sounds like an interesting premise. Can’t say as I’m too jazzed to read bitter, sad writings, though.

  3. I’m with Serena. Our husbands made us watch that one. I fell asleep at the beginning and woke up and was nauseated by the gore. Once again, the book is better than the movie (or so I hear, since I haven’t read the book).

  4. Hmm, well that’s a bit odd about the Love Letters book. It sounds good but why didn’t they include more “love” ones than bemoaning lack of love or something. I have one book which is also about love letters – I’m blanking out on the title now but it’s so cool. They have excerpts or whole letters from famous people and it is divided into sections. You get the full of romance, bitter endings, etc. The design of the book is really cool too.

    And, thank you for the warning on the movie. I think I’ll take a pass on that one 🙂

  5. yikes, that Ruins cover looks downright freaky! Thanks for stopping by, its been great getting to know a fellow book blogger!

    Kimberly

  6. I gave you an award on my blog! 😉

Leave a Reply

