Sword of Darkness – the other one

I reviewed  Knight of Darkness by Kinley MacGregor a few days ago.  It wasn’t the best book ever.  But, believe it or not, I went on to read the other book in the series, Sword of Darkness. (well, since I had it already). 

First of all, I read the books in the wrong order.  I should of read Sword before Knight as it was the first one in the series.  Second of all, it was a much better book.  It was written better, the story was better, and it was easier to follow. 

Now, saying that, I wouldn’t say it was a good book.  Yet, I kept on keeping on.  I’m not even sure why.  At least in this book, I sort of cared about the characters a ltitle more.  Although, like I said for the last book, the author was not that successful going back and forth through time very well.  I never believed we weren’t supposed to be in the 21st century in America. 

Oh well, it passed the time during a time I’m having trouble picking up something to read.  Nothing is too appealing to me lately.  So, I guess I turned to something “trashy.”  What do you turn to when you’re in a funk?

4 responses to “Sword of Darkness – the other one

  1. Isn’t it funny how we finish a book even if it’s not “good?” That says a lot for the story and/or characters, even when we don’t care for the actual writing. I also wonder how different books in a series can “sound” so different from each other.

    When I’m in a reading funk or an emotional funk, I turn to my “comfort” books. The ones I actually buy. I like something light, with a really good kissing scene, but with a cool story.

  2. When I’m in a funk, I want something intense to keep my attention, maybe Jodi Picoult.

    Oh and by the way – I showed you some love on my blog 🙂

  3. I usually need a change of pace after reading a very long book, a very detailed book, or a very tedious book. I used to turn to James Patterson to get a quick read, but I haven’t been impressed with his books as of late.

    I applaud you for sticking with the book even when you thought it wasn’t great.

  4. It’s rare, but when I get like that I usually read cutesy romances, where I know exactly what to expect. Bridget Jones, Shopaholic. In a funk is usually when I turn to these types off books.

Leave a Reply

