Going Down South

Bonnie J. Glover recently offered me a copy of her second novel, Going Down South.  It’s described as:

…a heartwarming tale of second chances and the unparalleled love between mothers and daughters.

Being a daughter and having a daughter, I couldn’t pass this one up.  I’m sure glad I didn’t.

The three women in this novel, Birdie, Daisy, and Olivia are amazing.  Each one is developed in their own section of the book which describes each lady and provides background that helps the reader understand why each character behaves as she does.  It was an interesting and effective way to begin the book.  Of course, not much happens for the first half because we are learning about the characters.  Nevertheless, it was a beautiful character study. 

In the second half of the novel, we learn how these three ladies co-exist during a difficult time.  We watch them grow and change.  The story was so realistic with no unbelievable events that sometimes mar this type of story.  The author stayed true to each character while letting them learn.  I appreciated that everything didn’t turn out perfect, but there was still great positive change in all three women.

The descriptions of the setting were excellent.  It was a difficult time for African-American women in the 1960s and the author did a good job describing this.  It made me more aware as I had never really realized how difficult it really was (I know that makes me sound ridiculous, but it’s true).

Anyway, thank you Bonnie for sharing your book with me.  I truly would recommend it as I know others have, already:

Booking Mama

Diary of an Eccentric

8 responses to “Going Down South

  1. This book is getting great reviews. I may have to put this in the TBR pile!

  2. Very, very glad that people seem to really like GOING DOWN SOUTH.

  3. This sounds delightful. What a lovely review. I’ll be on the lookout for it.

  4. I enjoyed your review and am glad you liked it! Thanks for linking to my review! I added your link to my review as well. Glover did a wonderful job with making readers feel like they were down south with the characters, and she made the pain these women endured real to me.

  5. You know – there really is no greater joy to a writer than knowing people have enjoyed your work. I’m so happy when people tell me that it makes up for all the other things — like tired eyes and sleepless nights!

    Thanks so much everyone! It has been my pleasure.

  6. Pingback: October Book Club Pick — The Probable Future « Book Escape

Leave a Reply

