Wednesday Sisters

I picked up The Wednesday Sisters by Meg Waite Clayton at the library a couple of weeks ago because I remembered reading some good reviews of this one around the blogosphere.  I have to agree, this was a good one! 

This is the story of five women in silicone valley in the ’60s who meet at the park every Wednesday.  The story follows the women as their relationships grows, change, and the women face some difficult obstacles together.

The story is told from the perspective of one of the women.  This was an effective technique in telling the story of the women.  While we didn’t always know what the other women were thinking, the narrator did such a good job describing the women that we could probably guess.  The story was realistic and believable. 

I really enjoyed how the author included the societal themes in the novel and showed them through the women’s eyes.  It was fascinating to read how five white suburban housewives in the 60s reacted to the Vietnam War, civil rights issues, and the women’s movement.  They didn’t always react as I thought they would and I enjoyed watching the women change over time.  They faced their preconceived ideas and grew from them.  It was really well done.  I think this was my favorite part of the whole novel.

I would love for my mother to read this one and talk to her about these issues, especially since she’s around the same age as the women in this novel.  I have found that reading books with my mom has opened up some good discussions and I think this is a good one to pursue.

8 responses to “Wednesday Sisters

  1. I, too, loved the book and I’ve suggested my mom read this too. I was born in Nov 1969 and I am sure my mom can relate to these women and their thoughts/fears of the time. I think it would be fun to talk with her about it.

  2. I think I’d like this book. I love books that explore women’s relationships. I’m adding it to my list! 🙂

  3. This sounds like a fascinating peek into a troubled time from a perspective I haven’t, sadly, considered much. I’ll be looking this one up!

  4. I enjoyed it as well – if you haven’t read The Knitting Circle yet, that’s also another great womens-relationship books.

    -Kimberly

  5. I too enjoyed this book when I read it back in July. Are you and Tracy going to shave your heads once I loose my hair! 🙂 TEHE

  6. Sounds like a great read. This book has been on my list for awhile, but I haven’t had a chance to read it yet. I studied those social movements in college and found them very interesting, so I bet I’d enjoy reading a book that takes place during that time.

  7. I have had tis for awhile, but haven’t been able to get to it. I think I will work on it during the read-a-thon on saturday.

  8. Pingback: Review: The Wednesday Sisters « Book Addiction

Leave a Reply

