More Twilight Obsession

 

 

Last weekend, I talked my husband into letting me go to the first showing of Twilight on Saturday morning all by myself.  My friends invited me to join them the following week, but I just didn’t want to wait.  Yes, that’s right, I’m a 34-year-old mom who couldn’t wait to see this teenager movie.

I have to say I truly enjoyed the movie.  I know the reviews have been mixed, but I LOVED it!  Maybe I was seeing it through rose-colored glasses since I am such a fan.  But, the movie stayed quite true to the book, with only minor changes that actually helped the story along. 

When Richard Pattinson was first cast as Edward, I was disappointed.  After seeing the movie, I no longer feel that way.  I thought he did do a great job (although, I thought his chest could have been a little more cut!)  I got the tingles in my belly that I got as I read the book as I watched the movie.  Both actors for Edward and Bella were great.

After the movie, I did feel like I could not get enough.  I reread book two and book four.  I skipped book three since I had reread it last month.  I have considered rereading it again, though.  My husband and I have date night tonight and I’m trying to convince him to go see Twilight  with me.  I feel sort of pathetic.  I never reread books and here I am rereading these over and over again.  And, I don’t ever pay to see a movie more than once in the theatre.  For some reason, I just can’t get enough.  I’m not sure what the connection is here, but Stephenie Meyer has connected with me somehow.  It’s so fun to escape into this world, with such a strong love between the characters.  It’s all so unrealistic, but I LOVE it.

14 responses to “More Twilight Obsession

  1. Pingback: - Are You Riled Up? - » Blog Archive » More Twilight Obsession « Book Escape

  2. I am probably going to see it on Monday, because I’m off and the kids will be back in school. Love matinee showings.

  3. Pingback: The Buzz » Blog Archive » More Twilight Obsession « Book Escape

  4. I’m with you, Nicole. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I can see why some people don’t like it, but I LOVED this version of the story. The only thing I really laughed at was Jasper’s head. I *think* he was going for horrified but his wide eyes looked hilarious to me.

    The cinematography was gorgeous in scenes, the music was awesome and I loved the gritty feel to the film.

    These actors definitely aren’t *my* Bella and Edward, but they did a fantastic job. I thought Charlie was perfectly casted and I can’t wait to see how Jake evolves. Esme was exactly what I had pictured in my head, and Emmet and Rosalie were very close.

    I have *got* to go see it again, LOL!

  5. I’m glad you enjoyed the movie.

  6. I love your enthusiasm. Glad you’re having fun!

  7. That is so cute… I actually really want to see the movie too but no one I know wants to go. I may just have to go by myself!

  8. Hey, I’m a 31 year old mom and I really liked it, too. It wasn’t a great movie, but it was enjoyable. I wouldn’t pay money to see it again, but I’ll probably buy it when it comes out on DVD.

  9. So, did he see the movie with you?

  10. Nicole,

    I too am a 34-year-old mother, and I have the same feelings as you about this teenage movie! I read Twilight first, and went to see the movie. I loved them both, and the movie left me with a feeling that I have never had for any movie. It’s a little strange, but maybe it just makes me feel “young” again. My husband ordered me the rest of the series for Christmas, but they haven’t arrived yet. I am on the edge of my seat waiting to read what happens in book 2!!!

  11. Happy New Year! I received the Owen Meany book – THX! Hope to see ya around soon…

  12. what will make more money in the long run, i wonder: Twilight or Harry Potter?

  13. I thought i was alone, thank god im not a freak, im 33 and have two kids aged 10 and 13 I enjoyed the movie far more than they read all the books cant seem to get back to real life UK

  14. i havent´s read these books yet… but i´m curious, the movie seems great too.

    lovely blog!

Leave a Reply

