Am I Back??

I haven’t been here in awhile.  Then end of last year got really busy with my daughter’s birthday, Thanksgiving, Chirstmas, …… and I just didn’t keep up.  By the time I thought of it again, I figured everyone would have given up on me.  But, my friend over at The Written Word keeps encouraging me to start up again.  Plus, I received an email from another blogger at Fuzzy Cricket, asking me how things were going.  It feels nice to be missed.  (And, I have to admit, I miss checking in with some of my favorite bloggers.) 

So, here’s a brief update on my reading.  I’ll get more in-depth later.

Since the beginning of 2009, I’ve already read 25 books.  Yeah me!  I’ve gotten hooked on some different vampire series.  Could it be the influence of Twilight??  BTW, I got the special 3-disc DVD from Target (my loving husband got up early on Saturday and got it for me!)

Product Details

I read all the books of the True Blood series by Charlaine Harris.  Of course, I read one of the last ones first, which it made it a little weird to read the rest of them.  But, I truly enjoyed this series.  It makes me want to watch the show on HBO except I keep forgetting to watch it on Saturday nights.  The books are easy reading, but here’s a disclaimer,  very, very sexual.  I find myself blushing sometimes!

Product Details

I’ve also started reading a YA vampire series by L. J. Smith, Vampire Diaries.  I’m not sure if I recommend these or not.  They are just okay, but I am a sucker for a series and I love to find out what happens to the characters over time.  By the fourth book, though, I’m starting to lose interest.

I’ve also read a couple of classics, Emma, by Jane Austen and Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte.  I enjoyed both, especially Emma.  I am a huge Jane Austen fan.  Wuthering Heights took awhile and I thought it was an interesting story, but I’m not understanding why it’s some people’s favorite book ever. 

There were some other books sprinkled through here.  I read The Lace Reader and will review it more in-depth later. 

Okay, so I guess it’s official, I’m back!

11 responses to “Am I Back??

  1. It’s good to have you back, Nicole! I look forward to your upcoming reviews. 🙂

  2. Welcome Back! You have been missed. I had wondered where you got off to!

  3. Nice to see you here 🙂

    I watched the new PBS Masterpiece Theater version of Wuthering Heights (you should probably rent it) and now I would like to read the book.

  4. Yeah! Welcome back! Sounds like life has been busy, but in a good way. It’s so good to see what you’ve been reading. I’m on a Young Adult kick, lately, and I’ve got some classics I want to read, too.

    Oh, and Twilight? Drool…I’m definitely devouring my DVDs.

  5. It’s great to see you back here! I also was curious to where you’d gone. Looks like you’ve been reading up a storm, though.

  6. Good to see a post from you Nicole – I’ve missed them!

  7. Hey it’s great to see you back! And, looking forward to hearing more about all the books you’ve been reading. 25 for the year so far is great!

  8. I’ve been wondering about you! I just saw that you left a comment at Heather’s and rushed over to say hello. Nancy at Bookfoolery and Babble (link is in my blogspot/blogroll) has a contest for a vampire series if you’re interested. Terrific that you are 25 books in – on target for 100?

  9. Pingback: The Vampire Diaries Series « Book Escape

Leave a Reply

