Another Go with Emily Giffin — Something Blue

Last summer, my book club read Baby Proof by Emily Giffin.  I really enjoyed that book and wrote a review of it here.  I remember this book offered some of the liviest discussion our book club has ever had about a book.  It elicited some strong emotions from most of the members of our group, many negative.  But, I remember thinking Iwanted to read more from this author.  I finally got around to it.

Product Details

I just finished Somthing Blue today.  It is the story of Darcy, a shallow woman in her late-20s who finds herself pregnant by one of the groomsmen in her wedding party.  It’s described on the back cover as:

Something Blue is a novel about one woman’s surprising discoveries about the true meaning of friendship, love, and happily-ever-after.

I have to say I really enjoyed this book.  However, I didn’t find it as relatable as Baby Proof.  The main character, Darcy, is a “character.”  I  found the descriptions of her almost too cliche.  Although, I think the author did this to try to emphasize the big change she undergoes in the novel.  By the end, she is well-adjusted.   However, I thought she was an entertaining character, if a little unbelievable. 

As Darcy faces that she is getting older, is not desired by everyone she meets, betrays and is betrayed, she does mature.  I  liked that while she did change, she did continue to struggle with her old ways of thinking.  Don’t we all when we’re trying to improve ourselves? 

The plot moves quickly.  Sometimes I had difficulty with this.  It seemed like too much occured in the time line provided by the author.  And, then, at the end, time flies with little happening.  That part was a little annoying.

It turns out that this book is a sequel.  Of course, I read the books out of order (I tend to do this a lot.  I read a book I like, then find out it’s part of a series).  I will be checking out the first book, Something Borrowed, even though I know how it turns out. 

Overall, if you want a chick-lit book, I would recommend it.  I don’t think it gives you too much to think about, though.

3 responses to “Another Go with Emily Giffin — Something Blue

  1. I usually read books out of order, too, LOL. I’m not quite sure how it happens so often. Sounds like this is a perfect light read, one of those books we need every once in awhile to give our minds a rest, to just go with the flow of a story.

    Fun review!

  2. I’ve yet to read Baby Proof – I remember those reviews and discussion.

  3. I try to avoid reading books out of order, but sometimes it does happen. LOL Great review.

Leave a Reply

