Another Addition for my Jane Austen Addiction

Product Details

 

I found this book on bookmooch.  I was out searching for more fodder for my Jane Austen addiction.  So, when I saw this one, The Man Who Loved Jane Austen, by Sally Smith O’Rourke, I thought I’d give it a try.  It was free, right?  No risk.

Well, this book was the story of the real Fitzwilliam Darcy and how he influenced Jane’s notable work, Pride & Prejudice.  It was a very interesting concept that involved time travel.  Who would have paired time travel and Jane Austen??  It made for a fun book.

The main character, Eliza (approprite, no?), finds two letters in an antique vanity she buys.  The letters appear to be from Jane Austen to Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy.  Eliza ends up  getting the letters authenicated.  This leads her on a chase to find out who the real Mr. Darcy is.  Of course, romance, after some bumps, ensue. 

This story has some loose ties to Pride & Prejudice.  Of course, there’s Mr. Darcy, Eliza (Elizabeth Bennet), the best friend and his sister (who, of course, covets Mr. Darcy and tries to embarrass Eliza), the original disdain between characters with a nicely tied up happy ending.  No surpirses, here.  But, nevertheless, it was fun!

If you like romance and Jane Austen and aren’t too picky, this book is a fun, light read to enjoy.  If you’re a Jane Austen purist, you may be annoyed. 

3 responses to “Another Addition for my Jane Austen Addiction

  1. I am going to devote a whole month to discovering Jane Austen. The classics and the spin offs. This sounds like a really fun read and since I’m definitely not a purist, I’ll be giving it a go!

  2. ooo, I’ve heard about this book from Anna at Diary of an Eccentric. She liked this book as well.

  3. There are so many Jane Austen-inspired books out there now! I can’t keep track 🙂

    The only thing that’s kept me from reading these is the fact that I’ve never read P&P – gasp! I figure I should start with the original first.

Leave a Reply

