A Vampire Book — Definitely not Twilight

Since restarting my blog, I was contacted by William Morrow Publishing and offered some books to read.  The books seemed geared more toward men (don’t role you eyes at me).  It just seemed like books my husband would enjoy more than I.  I asked for two of the books, thinking that if I didn’t read them, my husband would and write a review for me.  Well, one of the books I picked was advertised as a vampire book.  Since I’m into vampires (Twilight, Vampire Diaries, True Blood), I thought I’d check this one out myself.  Well, it definitely wasn’t Twilight, but I enjoyed it anyway.  It was definitely outside my usual box.  So what was it, you ask?  It’s….

The Strain

by Guillermo Del Toro & Chuck Hogan

Product Details

The book is due out on 6/2.  And, if you like vampires that aren’t hunky teenagers or you like horror books, I would recommend this one to you.  It is the story of an outbreak of vampires in NYC, threatening to annihilate the city within one week, and the world in six months.  This book is the first in a triology to be released. 

This book is written with suspense in mind.  During the first half of the book, I was wondering what was happening (and I knew it was advertised as a vampire book).  It’s not your typical vampire story (even if you’re thinking of Anne Rice).  This book starts out with the CDC, a plane full of dead people, and no explanation.  I was definitely intrigued from the beginning and I couldn’t wait to find out where the authors were going with the whole vampire thing.

And, when we finally find out about the vampires, it’s not a pretty sight.  I thought it may give me nightmares (it didn’t).  The descriptions of the “monsters” were so well done I could picture and “feel” the horror.  It kind of made the blood pump.  I felt the sense of urgency that the main characters felt. 

As for the characters…there were many of them.  However, while I usually get confused with lots of characters appearing and then reappearing, I thought the authors did a good job giving little hints to remind me who the characters were when they reappeared.  I didn’t find myself looking back in the book trying to figure it out (of course, this probably isn’t an issue for many of you).   I wouldn’t say the characters were well developed; they were adequate.  But, it isn’t a character driven book, so that’s okay.

The ending did leave me wanting to know what was going to happen next.  It wasn’t tied up nicely, but they did have a little surprise in the last couple of pages that made me shudder. 

I can definitely see this book as a very scary, very graphic movie.  I’m not sure I’d be ready to watch it on screen, but reading about it was definitely an experience.  While this book is not my usual, I think it was really well done.  I look forward to reading the next books in the series

9 responses to “A Vampire Book — Definitely not Twilight

  1. This is the book I’ve been dying to read. I’ve heard about it for months now. Great review…now all I have to do is get into that bookstore on June 2!

  2. It’s fun having an excuse to read something we might not otherwise pick up. Sounds like this is definitely different, but I’m interested enough to check it out. Nice review!

  3. Guillermo Del Toro the film director?! Have you seen Pan’s Labyrinth? sorry – I got distracted. I have The Historian to read this year, sometime, maybe.

  4. I have this in my pile for review…I’m really looking forward to it now!

  5. Hmm, if I hadn’t seen Guillermo Del Toro’s name on there I may not be tempted but I am now. I’ve heard him give a couple of interviews before and I love how he’s described his creativity process, what leads to the stories, etc. Oh and Pan’s is one of my favorite movies!

    Glad to hear you enjoyed it and am putting it on my radar!

  6. Sounds like a interesting read. I would probably get nightmares. I had one with the book I am finishing now it isn’t even that bad.

  7. I’d love to read this one. I’ve heard about it and wasn’t sure I’d want to read it, but your review convinced me. It does sound like it would make a graphic movie, and I don’t think I’d want to see it. But I’m sure I could handle it as a book. Thanks for the review!

  8. Pingback: Bad Things by Michael Marshall « Book Escape

Leave a Reply

