New Chick-Lit: An Offer You Can’t Refuse

I saw reviews for this one on a few of my favorite blogs:  Booking Mama, Savvy Verse & Wit, Diary of an Eccentric.  It sounded a like a cute read and when I saw it on my library’s brand new book counter, I grabbed it. 

Product Details

An Offer You Can’t Refuse, by Jill Mansell, is the story of Lola and the relationships in her life.  At 17, her boyfriend, Dougie’s, mother makes her an offer she can’t refuse in exchange for Lola dumping him.  Ten years later, Lola and Dougie find themselves reaquainted and Lola tries to win him back.  Thrown in there is Lola’s neighbors, Sally and Gabe, her mother, and her new found father, Nick. 

I’m not sure what I want to say about this book.  It was a quick read and I found it amusing.  However, I’m not sure I really liked it much.  I thought all the characters to be too extreme.  While this added some humor, it kind of made the whole thing ridiculous.  I found myself rolling my eyes quite a bit. 

As a main character, I felt that Lola was a flake.  While she had a good job as a bookstore manager, which was kind of fun, the rest of her was just silly.  I didn’t find myself routing for her much.  I understood why she took the deal, but I didn’t think her reason for keeping it a secret 10 years later made too much sense. 

Lola’s friend and Dougie’s sister, Sally, was also a ridiculous person.  I’m not sure why the author made these Sally and Lola so silly.  It kind of gave me an annoyed feeling reading about these two women who were just sooo caught up in themselves at their ages. 

The men were a little better, but not much.  Gabe and Nick, Lola’s dad, had the best personalities, I think.  They seemed more like real people than caricatures.

The story was relatively predictable.  There were a few, minor surprises, but nothing too noteworthy.  The ending was what I expected.  I was only surprised that it too so long to get there.  

As I reread this review, I see that’s it’s quite negative.  I don’t want you to think it’s a horrible book, but I just thought it could have been better.  The concept was kind of fun.  There is also some humor if you can appreciate the ridiculous.

5 responses to “New Chick-Lit: An Offer You Can’t Refuse

  1. I’m sorry you weren’t thrilled with this book. I just thought it was a chick lit, fun read!

  2. I don’t do well with Flakey Characters. Unless they are really well written and they have some charming, redeeming features. Otherwise I find myself bored and rolling my eyes.

  3. I agree with much of the negatives you point out here, but I really love light reads, and this one fit the bill even though it was ridiculous. I think that’s why I was laughing so much. Its good to laugh these days.

    I’ve added your review link to my post.

  4. The book sounds cute but I definitely think it’s one I have to read for when I’m in the mood for something fluffy.

  5. I agree the characters were a bit extreme, and I didn’t like Lola much, but I still thought the book was fun. Thanks for linking to my review.

    –Anna

Leave a Reply

