The Vampire Diaries Series

Product Details

When I first returned to blogging, I mentioned that I had started reading The Vampire Diaries series by L.J. Smith.   This is a young adult series about a small town that has a lot of psychic power and it attracts all kinds of supernatural creatures.  Vampire Diaries:  The Return: Nightfall is the latest in this series of books.

As I mentioned before, I’m not sure if I would recommend this series to anyone.  But nevertheless, I am hooked on it.  I am a sucker for a series, especially a young adult one.  I”m not sure why a 34-year-old mother of two little ones would get hooked on these type of novels, especially when this one isn’t the greatest.    I think part of the allure is the intense romance between the teens that always sucks me in.  It’s fun to read and remember the strong emotions of that time in my life.  And, looking back as an adult, it’s not nearly as painful.  I can appreciate it on a different level now.

This book is quite different than the Twilight series and it is not nearly as good.  I don’t like the main character in this one as much as I like Bella.  In fact, I don’t like most of these characters as much.  But, there is more of a variety of them which keeps the story interesting.  We have werewolves, witches, vampires, etc.  And, of course, the “bad-boy.”  I think Damon is the most interesting character in the story with, at least, some complexity. 

This latest novel is the continuation of the last books.  There’s new evil to fight and relationships continue to be tested.  This story actually gets kind of confusing and I didn’t always understand what was happening.  It was a little convoluted even for a “fantasy” type story. 

But, the author did leave us hanging at the end, promising a next one…..And, of course, I’ll read it!

4 responses to “The Vampire Diaries Series

  1. I love books like this for the same reason – intense romance, looking back with perspective. It’s funny, the books that we connect with and get addicted to. I feel the same way about JD Robb’s In Death series. I wouldn’t recommend them because they are emotionally and physically gritty, tackling scary subjects. But the characters…wow.

    But under it all is that intense passion. It reminds me of the good things I have in my marriage. And then I’m even more grateful for the passion in my own life.

  2. I get hooked on series easily even if they aren’t that great. thanks for the review…this one has vamps…I might have to check it out.

  3. Oh no–she brings werewolves into The Vampire Diaries? I’m not sure I like that. (I wasn’t crazy about it in her Nightworld series.)

    If you’d read these as a teen, you’d probably have felt differently about them. And like me, you’d probably think that Bella doesn’t measure up to Elena (and that Meyer was probably an LJ Smith fan as a kid herself). I know that the writing isn’t fantastic or anything, but yes–I’ll get sucked in all the same.

    Also, I’ve hooked a lot of non-reader YA girls on books using LJ Smith trilogies. If they’re aged 12+, I just hand them the first in a trilogy and wait for them to come asking for the next one. I was thrilled to see the Vampire Diaries being re-released–it was getting hard to find the original editions!

  4. There must be something good about these books if the series keeps on going. I feel that way about Patterson’s Women’s Murder Club series. I keep reading them even though they aren’t great. Why, I have no idea, but maybe it’s because I’m invested in the characters after 8 books. lol

    –Anna

Leave a Reply

