New Emily Listfield Novel — Review & Contest

Product Details

I was lucky enough to receive a copy of, Best Intentions, Emily Listfield’s new novel, released May 5.  I wasn’t familiar with Emily Listfield before receiving this book, but I have to say I’ll be checking out more of her novels after this one!  I thought this book was really well done.  As described by the publisher:

Best Intentions tells the story of four college friends whose reunion stirs old desires and grudges
with fatal results. In just twenty-four hours, everything Lisa Barkley had  been certain
of—job, husband, best friend, “the intrinsic netting of my life”—is suddenly  flimsy, insubstantial. Everything she had taken for granted “now  seems up for grabs.”

I was hooked on this book from the first chapter.  I’m not even sure why; I think it was the writing.  I just felt very connected to the book right from the start.  I love when that happens!  I was interested in the main character’s life immediately and couldn’t wait to see what happened.  The story is told in first person from Lisa Barkley’s views.  Using this method, the author really let us see (and feel) the struggling of this character.  I really enjoyed hearing Lisa’s thoughts and how she was perceiving events and actions around her.  It really added to the story.

As a mother and wife, I could definitely relate to the main character.  She struggles trying to be a good mom and wife, sometimes has doubts (although I have to say my doubts about my marriage have never reached the level hers have), worrying about money and fitting in with your children’s friend’s parents.  Some of the most relatable parts of the book, for me, was Lisa’s interactions at her daughters’ school.  Very well done!

There is a mystery component to this novel.  However, I was more interested in the relationships.  The mystery was fine.  The author was successful in throwing out possible solutions and giving some twists.  However, I didn’t think the mystery was the best part of the book.  I didn’t find myself trying to figure it out.  I was too busy thinking about the characters and how things would work out between them.

I truly recommend this book.  If you really enjoy character books and also like mysteries, this one is definitely for you! 

 There is more to find out about this book at Who Killed Deidre?

And, now for the contest.  I have a hardcover of this new novel to share.  Just leave me a comment with your email to enter.  If you link to the contest from your blog and let me know in the comments, I’ll add another entry.  The contest is open until May 15.  I’ll announce the winner on May 16.  Good luck!!

12 responses to “New Emily Listfield Novel — Review & Contest

  1. Don’t enter me! I just read and reviewed this one and thought it was fantastic. Suspenseful but also great character development!

  2. I love when books hook you in right away.

  3. I’d love to be entered. I’ve heard good things about this one. I added your giveaway to my list of giveaways in my sidebar. Thanks!

    –Anna
    diaryofaneccentric at hotmail dot com

  4. Please count me in! i’d recently read another book about a group of old college friends and their lives as they moved to nyc. this sounds even more interesting!

    I read about this on diary of an eccentric.

    gaby317nyc AT gmail DOT com

  5. I’m not sure if my comment went through – I’m sorry, I’ll try to post it again.

    I just posted a link to this contest on my blog’s sideroll.

    thanks

    gaby317nyc AT gmail DOT com

    http://www.startingfresh-gaby317.blogspot.com

  6. Pingback: Best Intentions by Emily Listfield « Word Lily

  7. Really enjoyed your review and am looking forward to reading this book! I already have a copy so no need to enter my name 🙂

  8. I just Tweeted about your contest (don’t ask, it’s a time suck)!!

  9. Have read yours and other reviews of this book and it sounds great. Please enter me, I’d love this to be among my summer reading pile!

  10. hi there! please enter me in this contest, this seems like a nice read. i’ve also posted a link to this contest on my sidebar. thanks.
    rona.mislang@gmail.com

  11. Just wondering if I’d somehow missed the announcement of the winners. I was checking on your site but couldn’t find it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

