The Accidental Bestseller by Wendy Wax

PUMP UP YOUR BOOK PROMOTION VIRTUAL BOOK TOURS PRESENTS


THE ACCIDENTAL BESTSELLER

by Wendy Wax

I was lucky enough to have a chance to read this new book which came out in paperback on June 2.  I wouldn’t be surprised if it makes the bestseller list and it would be no accident.

Once upon a time four aspiring authors met at their very first writers’ conference. Ten years later they’re still friends, survivors of the ultra-competitive New York publishing world. Mallory St. James is a workaholic whose bestsellers support a lavish lifestyle. Tanya Mason is a single mother juggling two jobs, two kids, and too many deadlines. Faye Truett is the wife of a famous televangelist and the author of inspirational romances: no one would ever guess her explosive secret. Kendall Aims’s once-promising career is on the skids—and so is her marriage. Her sales are dismal, her new editor detests her work—and her husband is cheating. Barely able to think, let alone meet her final deadline, Kendall holes up in a mountain cabin to confront a blank page and a blanker future. But her friends won’t let her face this trial alone. Together they collaborate on a novel using their own lives as fodder, assuming no one will ever discover the truth behind their words.

No one is more surprised than they are when the book becomes a runaway bestseller. But with success comes scrutiny and scandal…as these four best friends suddenly realize how little they’ve truly known each other.

I really enjoyed this book and I would definitely recommend it, especially to book lovers who have an interest in how the whole publishing world works (which means all you bloggers out there who went to BEA).  This book offers so much:  believable characters, interesting story,  a little romance with some suspense thrown in for good measure.

The four main women in this book were unique.  Coming from such different places, I was a little surprised how close their relationship with each other really was.  Thinking about it objectively, the group doesn’t seem believable, but somehow the author made me believe it and enjoy it.  These four women moved mountains to help each other.  It was comforting to see such love between women.  However, I deal feel the extent of the secrecy between them all was a little much.  With such intimacy on other levels, I was a little surprised how far the women went to keep secrets from each other.  But, of course, this secrecy drove the plot.

As for the plot, I couldn’t believe how drawn in I was.  When reading the synopsis of the book when it was offered to me, I thought it would be mostly a character-driven book (which I usually enjoy).  But, there was a real plot.  You’re only half way through the book when the novel the characters collaborate on is published.  There’s still a lot more to the story.  The author builds the suspense throughout the book.  I couldn’t to see what happened when the other shoe dropped, as you knew it would.  She didn’t disappoint me.

The inside look at the publishing industry was also fun.  I have a friend trying to get in the door and I never realized all the hurtles she has to face.  And, I just figured once a book was sold you had it made.  Not true.  The struggle only just begins.  I loved riding the roller coaster publishing with these four authors.

I think this book would have been great for my book club.  These four women are much more interesting than the four women from The Ten Year Nap (Can you tell that book really bothered me for some reason? I can’t stop talking about it even though I didn’t like it).  Anyway, this book also offers lots of topics to discuss with friends.

One little note, the book talks about writing love scenes a lot, but never gives us a real taste of these sexy scenes.  That may have been nice!

9 responses to “The Accidental Bestseller by Wendy Wax

  1. Pingback: Virtual Book Tour Day 15: Wendy Wax Visits Book Escape « Let’s Talk Virtual Book Tours

  2. Ooooh! Sounds so good. I’m adding this to my ever-growing list of books!

  3. I’m with Julie. This is going right to the top of my list. Despite the lack of love scenes. *blush* Love the cover!

  4. I will have to check this out sometime. Sounds like an interesting read!

  5. This one sounds so good. Thanks for the review!

  6. This sounds like a fun book! And, I had to laugh over your comment about the Ten Year Nap… That’s happened to me too with books I didn’t like, sometimes I can’t let go! haha…

  7. Pingback: Review: The Accidental Bestseller « Book Addiction

  8. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  9. That it – this is my recommendation for my book club. Thanks for the review. We read Wendy Wax a couple years back…. that was good, this looks better.

    One persons Journey Through a World of Books

Leave a Reply

