I Finished!! Finally! But it was worth it!

Well, I started The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss about three weeks ago.  I finished it yesterday.  I never take that long.  I did revisit a couple of old favorites while I was reading this one and I was very busy at home.  But, still, three weeks?!

I read this book on  a recommendation from Fuzzy Cricket.  You should definitely checkout her review of this book.  I often add books to my TBR after looking around the blogosphere, but this review had me heading to to the library immediately.

This is a fantasy book about a man(?) named Kvothe.  He is a legend in his world, but is now trying to retire as an innkeeper.  A Chronicler finds him and Kvothe decides to tell his story.  Kvothe tells the Chronicler it should take at least 3 days to tell his story.  The Name of the Wind is only the first day (at 665 pages).

I have to admit, it took awhile to get into this book.  When Kvothe was describing his childhood as a troupe member and his earliest teacher, I had trouble getting interested.  I think part of the problem is the names of the characters.  I always struggle when  there are unusual names to remember that aren’t like Joe, Mary, etc but are Kvote, Bast, Tehlu…. That’s my issue, though.  This is a fantasy book after all.

Once Kvote reaches the University, the story really picks up.  There is a lot going on and it is very intriguing.  Kvothe really starts to mature as a character.  He is so amazing you start to wonder if he’s man or something more.  He is very kind until he is crossed.  The author does a great job showing Kvothe’s development while still including the angst that a teenager feels at age 15.  This really added to the development of the character.

I think all the characters were well done (and there were many of them).  While only Kvothe is done is such depth, the author provides many other people that add to the story overall, especially Denna.  She is such an interesting character and plays an important role in the story.  But, the author leaves us not quite understanding her.  He provides some suggestions, but the reader is still having to guess right along with Kvothe.

There seems to be several interlocking ministories.  They add some mystery to the book.  It wanted me to keep reading to find out how it all fit together.  Of course, we aren’t given all the answers in book one.

As I finished the book, I was left thinking about what exactly the author was trying to say.  It was a wonderful story, once I got into it.  The importance of names was a big theme in the novel.    The author talks alot about how Kvothe is know by different names for different reasons.  Kvothe spends time trying to study with the Master Namer at the university to learn more about the power of names.  I’ll have to think about this some more.

Thank you, Fuzzy Cricket, for the recommendation.  The book was a challenge for me, but one I’m glad I took!

One response to “I Finished!! Finally! But it was worth it!

  1. Hooray! A huge pat on the back for persevering through the intimidating names and back story.

    I loved the emphasis on names, too. I thought a lot about the labels and names I earned as a kid. Some I embraced and developed because they were a sign of respect from the people I loved. Others, I purposefully rebelled against because I didn’t want to be “just that.” So, the power in names is universal.

    I can’t wait to see where some of these characters go, what they do and how they do it.

    Nice redesign on the blog, too! Very slick.

Leave a Reply

