House of Night Series

My mother has struck gold!  She recently brought over the first five books in the House of Night Series by P.C. Cast & Kristen Cast (a mother/daughter writing team).  I was hooked immediately and finished all five in less than a week (it would have been even shorter if life didn’t get in the way!)  And, now I’m sorta mourning that I don’t have more of them to read.  This also happened whenever I finished a new book in the Twilight series.  I don’t know what’s with me and young adult vampire series.  I think I need therapy!

Anyway, this series of books is about a young fledgling vampire, Zoey Redbird, and her “adventures” at The House of Night, a vampire high school.  Zoey is very gifted and starts training to become a High Priestess at school.  She is constantly called to fight evil.  Fortunately, she has a close group of vampire fledgling friends who are also quite gifted and very loyal.  As the series progresses, the dangers become, well, more dangerous.  By the fifth book, Zoey is trying to save humankind from a vampire/human war.  Very intense!

This is definitely a series that pays to read in order.  Thankfully, my mother knew about all the books and gave them to me labeled 1-5.  While the authors do try to recap in the beginning of each novel, I’m sure I’d be confused had I not just finished the book right before.  So, proceed in this order:

  1. Marked
  2. Betrayed
  3. Chosen
  4. Untamed
  5. Hunted
  6. ****Tempted (due out in October, 2009  YEAH!!)

This book has typical teenage angst.  It’s just added to with the whole vampire changing thing.  The authors really captured teenagers from thoughts and actions to actually speech.  It was fun reading the whole book from Zoey’s point-of-view.  The authors definitely succeed in making her authentic.

As for the plot, very engaging.  Although, I have to admit it was sometimes a little confusing.  A major event would occur and I would just not remember it happening.  It turns out, the authors just would throw it in there as Zoey updating someone on what’s been happening at school.  That was a little annoying.  Nevertheless, I was intrigued by the plot lines of all books and I was not putting these books down, if I didn’t have to.

Of course, there is a love triangle (or should I say square or hexagon?)  Our little Zoey is quite the amorous one.  She seems to fall for several guys and all at the same time.  At first, I thought it was getting a little ridiculous when she was onto the third guy, a teacher.  But, the resolution of that one kind of helped it out.  Plus, I just watched a Hannah Montana with my daughter about Miley being in love with two guys at once.  I must have forgotten how these things are for teenagers.  Once I got passed that, I starting enjoying the love square.

As for young adult, I’m not sure I’d want my young ones reading this.  It is quite sexy.  Certain sexual activities are discussed early and there is some erotic scenes (not all with acutal sex, but quite sexual).  It’s definitely for an older crowd.

So, I’m waiting patiently (okay, not patiently, but waiting) for the next in this series.  Should I head over and pre-order?

6 responses to “House of Night Series

  1. Glad to hear you like these books. My friend just sent me Marked. I haven’t read it yet, but I’m looking forward to it.

    –Anna

  2. Sounds fun. I haven’t read much vampire lore yet. It’s so great when you discover a series tat you love and then there is a new book coming out soon. By the time you make it through the five you have you’ll be ready.

  3. I just wanted to thank you for suggesting the “House of the Night” series. I didn’t even know this series existed. I completely understand having a fetish with the vampire genre books, as well as mourning the end of a book. I just finished reading “Predatoress: Hungarian Bride” by Emma Gabor – a great vampire romance book that fulfilled my evenings for the last two days- and am so sad it is over. I am desperately looking for another vampire book to read. So glad I stumbled across this site.

  4. It’s amazing how sexy YA literature is these days, isn’t it?

  5. These sound fun! I love vampire stories so I’ll have to keep these in mind.

  6. Wow, sounds like a great new series…another that I have yet to read. Must check this out…thanks for the great review.

Leave a Reply

