Everything Austen Challenge – Take 2

I saw it, I bought it, I read it.  My daughter found Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen & Seth Grahame-Smith on a shelf a Barnes & Noble and grabbed it and said, “Look Mommy, it’s vampires like Twilight.”  Well, not quite, but now you know what I’m always talking about at home.  My 6-y-o knows me so well!

I did buy it thinking in my head it was Mr. Darcy, Vampyre  (which I now realized doesn’t come out until later this Summer).  But, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies still fits the challenge (although not on my original list).  And, it was a fun read!

I’ve seen lots of reviews of this one from the Challenge page.  Most everyone seems to like it, but I did read one review that hated it.  That reviewer seems to be a Jane Austen purist.  So, I understand her qualms.  This is NOT a serious Jane Austen book.  It’s just a silly, funny read.

This book is Pride & Prejudice retold with the addition of zombies.  Elizabeth and her four sisters are master warriors engaged by the Crown to fight the unmentionables.  Other differences are: Mrs. Collins turns into a zombie, Lady Catherine is a celebrated zombie killer, and Mr. Darcy also is a strong combatant.  Otherwise, the basic story is the same.

At first, the book seemed almost too silly for me.  Elizabeth was a killing machine who often thought about killing zombies as well as regular people who hurt her pride.  But, once I got over it, I really started to see the humor in it all.  And, it was hilarious.  I laughed out loud more than once (always a good sign for a book).  My favorite, funny part is:

Elizabeth and Darcy merely looked at one another in awkward silence, until the latter reached both arms around her.  She was frozen — “What does he mean to do?” she thought.  But his intentions were respectable, for Darcy merely meant to retrieve his Brown Bess [musket], which Elizabeth had affixed to her back during her walk.  She remembered the lead ammunition in her pocket and offered it to him.  “Your balls, Mr. Darcy?”  He reached out and closed her hand around them, and offered, “They belong to you, Miss Bennet.”

You must also overlook the fact that provinicial Elizabeth and her sisters travelled to China twice to study the killing arts.  The author did stay true to the Bennetts still not uppercrust, since most zombie fights train in Japan.  And, also, the fact that everyone still travels around despite the dangerous “unmentionables” problem.  Elizabeth is almost a superhero, with others being killed easily by a zombie while she can put down more than a dozen alone.

If you are an Austen fan and like a funny read, definitely check this one out.  However, if you think you’ll be offended by such a satire, I think you should pass.  Have fun!!

8 responses to “Everything Austen Challenge – Take 2

  1. I ordered this book, and it came today. Yea! It sounds like a fun read, and I hope I can resist temptation and save it for my upcoming vacation.

  2. HA HA, love that quote!! I can’t wait to read this one!!

  3. BTW, did you see on my blog how Sense & Sensibility & Sea Monsters will be out this September? I kid you not…

  4. I’m sort of curious about the book but given that I’ve not read P&P I figure I’ll wait on all of the spin-offs until I read the real deal 🙂

  5. Awesomely funny! I loved it as well. I couldn’t pass it up when I saw it sitting on the shelf at Target! That quote was one of my laugh out loud parts as well!

  6. I like fun reads, but I can see why purists would not like it much

  7. haha wow, I wonder what Austen would’ve said if she knew about this! then again I was checking out her influences (http://www.infloox.com/person?id=6ecbeeee) and it’s such a varied lot that she might’ve even just gone with the flow! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Everything Austen — Bonus Track « Book Escape

Leave a Reply

