Darkest Powers Series by Kelley Armstrong

I’ve had a hard time keeping with the book reviews this summer.  Too much having fun, I guess!

Anyway, I’ve really been into YA series lately.  Can’t seem to get enough (I know, I said I was going to read some classics, but, right now, I’m hooked on the fluff).  I discovered the Darkest Power series and am really enjoying it.  I just wish I didn’t have to wait until May, 2010 to read book #3.

While I vacation, I read the first book, The Summoning. The series starts off with Chloe, a 15-year old who finally reaches puberty and discovers her supernatural powers — she’s a necromancer.  Of course, she doesn’t know what this is and thinks she’s going crazy.  She ends up in a group home for teens and discovers she’s not the only one with supernatural powers.  And, the group home isn’t what it seems.  Chloe hooks up with some of the other teens and escapes the group home.

This book had me hooked right away.  It was interesting to tap into other supernatural powers besides the typical vampire stuff, which I can’t seem to get enough of, either.  I think the author did a great job of tapping into the teen angst and the confusion of this age.  I enjoyed all the characters and they are all described well.  There are “click” issues presented and typical teenage relationship angst.  It seemed to have a whole new dimension with the supernatural stuff thrown into it.

The next book, The Awakening, picks up right where the first book left off.  I would definitely read these books in order.  The author does do a good job summing up the events of the first book, but you would miss a lot if you didn’t read the first book.  The relationships wouldn’t make as much sense.  I enjoy how Chloe seems to be maturing.  I also like the development in one of the other characters, Derek.  It’s actually funny to me how these two characters seem to change over the novel while the other teens seem to stay mostly the same.  I think that will change as the series progresses.

This book does offer some twists I didn’t see coming.  That makes the book even more fun.  It’s not quite as predictable as some of these novels can be.

I’m definitely looking forward to Book #3.  If you want to check out more about these books check out this the series website.

4 responses to “Darkest Powers Series by Kelley Armstrong

  1. sounds like you are enjoying yourself even if you haven’t kept up with reviews. summers are slow months regardless.

  2. I hadn’t really thought about read this series, but it sounds worth considering. This summer is hectic for me, and it feels like I haven’t been keeping up. I say enjoy it while it lasts!

    –Anna

  3. This is such a fun series. Kelley Armstrong’s whole world is just unique. Her adult books are a lot more, um…visceral? Yeah, that’s a good word. I like these Young Adult books because you get the world and great characters in an more relaxing read.

    Derek? Yeah. He’s a mighty cool character. It’s not easy being a werewolf. Loved the park scene where he gets a little protective of Chloe.

  4. I hadn’t heard of this series before! Looks great! Thanks for the review.

Leave a Reply

